Te Arawa Lakes Trust Staff


Head Office

1194 Haupapa St
P.O Box 128
Phone: 0508 TE ARAWA (832 729) OR (07) 346 1761
Fax: (07) 347 7349
Website: www.tearawa.iwi.nz

Karen Vercoe - Chief Executive 

Ngāti Pikiao, Ngāti Mākino

Karen’s experience extends across multiple sectors with a focus on capability development and outcomes frameworks. Karen has held various leadership roles and has a passion for business and governance. Karen has previously served as an elected member on the Sport Industry Training Organisation Maori Board and the OSCAR Foundation.  

Karen was the recipient of the 2016 Dame Mira Szászy Māori Alumni Award. Recipients are graduates of the University of Auckland Business School who have achieved significant success in their careers and are involved in activities relating to the advancement of Māori. Karen holds a Master of Management degree from the University of Auckland (2007) and was a recipient of the University of Auckland Kelly Research Scholarship (2006).   

Karen is currently the elected chairperson of Te Pūmautanga O Te Arawa and sits on the Iwi Chairs Forum Maori Sport and Data, Iwi leaders groups.

Karen is a former New Zealand double international sportswoman in Rugby and Touch.

She is also the mokopuna of Major Te Reiwhati Vercoe who was a previous Chairman of Te Arawa Trust Board.

Karen is the proud mum of Hinemihi aged 17 and Kahuao aged 14.

Phone: 07 346 1761. Mobile: 021 672 677. Email: karen@tearawa.iwi.nz